I like the

necessity of windows.

They should be made

obligatory.

Rooms

would be terribly boring

without them.

 

I like the idea

of rooms that

breathe.

 

Here are pictures of windows I took when I was in Amsterdam and Alkmaar during Kontra-GaPi’s Euro Tour.

Windows 7

These houses are on Damrak (the canal/dam in front of Amsterdam Centraal), and are beside the buildings that are distinctly misaligned aka “dancing.” Where buildings are tilted to the side the foundations are on unstable ground. On the other hand, seemingly “landlocked” buildings tilt forward because of the weight of furniture that are often carried inside the building through hooks built on the facade, below the gable.

Windows12

Commercial buildings fronting  Beurs van Berlage along the busy Damrak street.

Windows 1

Somewhere along the busy streets were these windows getting ready to flutter away.

Windows 2

Quadruplets somewhere in Alkmaar. I cropped out the fourth house on the extreme right though for the sake of art symmetry. I like the house with the flowers best.

Windows 3

Royal-looking house. I have no idea. If by chance some Dutch or Alkmaar native is reading this, please enlighten me.

Windows 4

Look at that relief on top! The detail of the doors! The columns! The bicycle! The lamp post!

Windows 5

Notice the hooks on top of the red windows.

Windows 6

This is not a window but whattheheck it looks amazing! When in Amsterdam, look up! You’ll be blown away by the minutest details.

Windows 8

The ethereal Royal Palace. It sort of basks in golden light, as if the ground was acting like a reflector.

Windows11

I like brick buildings. They look organized and clean and they make sense. The windows on the other hand are like a canvas that borrows the mood of the sky.

Windows 9

A quiet pocket somewhere in the city.

Windows 10

Funny houses, flowers, canals, bikes and a quirky lamp post. Amsterdam in a nutshell.

Do you like windows? If you’re  weird like I am, gimme a shout out in the comments section below!

11 thoughts on “I like the

  1. I wish I had the talent to capture things like you do. I notice a lot of things but I can’t capture them nicely. But, hey, thank you for this beautiful collection. =)

    • Thanks for the like, Jojie! I was told by friends that my watermarks were distracting. OA kasi ako sa laki kung maglagay! Now I just resize my pics, but I’ll add watermarks in future posts!

      • In my workshops I tell them the watermarks are actually false assurances. Resizing is good as well. I have had an entry submitted in a photo contest by someone (with my watermark cropped out) but was met with objection from a few who recognized my photo. Suwerte ko kasi local contest yun and the organizer called me up to confirm if it was mine. What if international?

        What I do is configure my settings on the camera para lumabas sa exif data ang copyright name ko. It is still a small amount of assurance. I do get sumbongs from bloggers that they have seen my images and send me the link. Lucky if I can demand a pullout from those ungrateful websites (read: nonconfrontational). So whenever someone respectfully asks if he can borrow/use my image for noncommercial purposes, I respectfully thank him back for asking my permission even if he can almost get away with not needing to. Others who have the budget, have to pay for our blood, sweat and tears (by blood I must have meant moody periods). :-D

        Ang haba ko magspeech noh. Coffee perk! :-D

      • Good thing you have “blog police” na tagasumbong :)) Photo grabbing sux and is the reason why I get paranoid and forego posting some of my photos here sa blog.

        Nagulat nga ako sa haba, pero oks lang kahit epic pa ang haba ng comment! Salamat!

  2. ohmygaaaaaash THE DETAILS! THE FLOWERS! THE WINDOWS! THE ARCHITECTURE! THE PIQUANT COLORS OF THE HOUSES! THE CANALS! THE BRICKS! THE BIKES! THE ZANY LAMP POSTS! IKENAT ~~___~~ *mind explodes* I shall live there someday! :3

    P.S.
    amazing pictures, as usual! ☼

    ~ pers

    • This is a tourist city, mind you. Better to live in towns/cities outside of Amsterdam.

      Thanks! Although I think I should have placed a watermark waaaah

What do you think?

